Tomorrow afternoon

Discussion in 'Partner Talk' started by LynnR, Feb 2, 2018.

1. LynnR

LynnR Lynn, Calleigh, Maggie &Molly, Patti

Poo:
    Poo:
    Well, I've been learning how to play the Oboe for a couple of months now. Last Friday my dogs Veterinarian Ruth (who is also the main Bassoon player in our Symphony here) came to my house to help me with the technique on the double reed. I was given an Oboe at Christmas time and have always wanted to learn to play one. She was here about an hour and I was working on trying to get a sound which up until then I haven't been able to do because I wasn't sure of the mouth position for the embouchure. After her excellent instruction, I got it and she told me I was a natural because I got a really good strong sound on the reed, the mouth position made the difference - so this past week I started to work even harder after her visit. I got a call from Ruth last night and she told me that she had arranged for me to meet the principal oboist Saturday afternoon after the rehearsal for the Symphony performance at 3:00. Her name is Aura Pon and here is her bio: http://www.aurapon.ca/bio.html

I am really excited about this, because Ruth said that Aura was busy this week but when she is in town again in April she will give me a lesson and help me. Aura is very young and has a new born baby, so this week didn't work.

The Oboe is apparently one of the most difficult instruments to play - which only makes me more determined to learn it.

grandmatoall, pawbaby and KippersMa like this.
  2. KippersMa

KippersMa Well-Known Member

Poo:
    Poo: